APA vs AoP

APA vs AoP
APA vs AoP
APA vs AoP
APA vs AoP
previous arrow
next arrow

Dream Rivalry:

The Acolytes aka Acolytes Protection Agency vs Authors Of Pain. Faarooq and Bradshaw joined together under The Jackal (Don Callis) during the WWF Attitude Era. Akam and Rezar made their debut managed by Paul Ellering (manager of Road Warriors) in WWE NXT. Both tag teams destroyed their competition, both tag teams are made up of very talented wrestling individuals. How would they fare against one another in this dream rivalry?


1998–2000: APA Formation Bradshaw was in a tag team with his cousin Barry Windham as “The New Blackjacks” became known as Blackjack Bradshaw. Faarooq led the Nation Of Domination faction which then disbanded in a feud with The Rock, he then tagged with 2 Cold Scorpio. By 1998, Bradshaw and Faarooq’s single careers had stalled. WWF management then placed them in a tag team called The Acolytes managed by The Jackyl. When The Jackyl left the WWF, the duo joined The Undertaker‘s new heel stable, the Ministry of Darkness and then the Corporate Ministry. After feuding for the tag team titles, The Acolytes developed a gimmick as card players and beer drinkers, hustling many wrestlers and WWF employees out of their money.

2004-2009: APA Disband Faarooq (Ron Simmons) retired from wrestling at the age of 52, disbanding the tag team with Bradshaw (John Layfield). Bradshaw took on a J. R. Ewing esque gimmick, becoming a heel for the first time since 1999 complete with a suit, cowboy hat, and tie as he began his first main event push. He began referring to himself as John “Bradshaw” Layfield, or JBL. JBL would compete with the top main event talent and later in 2009, retire from wrestling.

2016: AOP Debut On June 8, 2016 at NXT TakeOver: The End, the Authors Of Pain made their debut by attacking American Alpha (Jason Jordan and Chad Gable). Paul Ellering appeared on the ramp following the assault, signaling his association with the two. Akam and Rezar dominated the NXT tag team division. Their names are a play on the principle known as Occam’s razor.

2018 On the April 9 episode of Raw, The Authors of Pain, along with Ellering, made their main roster debut, defeating Heath Slater and Rhyno. After the match, Akam and Rezar ended their partnership with Ellering by pushing him away and leaving him ringside as they returned backstage. On the September 3 episode of Raw, The Authors of Pain, now under the shortened name of “AOP“, were accompanied to the ring by the 205 Live General Manager, Drake Maverick, who announced himself as their new manager.

Tale of the tape:

APA vs AoP
1985 Born 1996
6’2″, 6’6″ Height 6’3″, 6’4″
270, 280 Weight (lb) 290, 330
1998 Debut 2016
Hiro Matsuda, Black Bart/Brad Rheingans Trained by WWE Performance Center
Aided Powerbomb, Clothesline From Hell (Bradshaw), Dominator (Faarooq) Signature Moves The Last Chapter, Spinning sidewalk slam (Rezar) / Running big boot (Akam) combination
Who would win this rivalry?

Can it happen?

No. Both Faarooq and Bradshaw are long retired. There is a 12 year gap between APA and AOP. While APA dominated the tag team division from 1998 to 2004, the AOP began their dominance in 2016. Different time, different world, but a dream match by all comparison.

Likelihood Level: Impossible


Please Login or Register to comment.
Notify of